CofC Logo

Your online community


Pre-Medical Society's Outstanding Service Award in Medicine

Celebrating our alumni leaders

This award is sponsored by the Alumni Association, the School of Sciences and Mathematics, and the Alpha Epsilon Delta Pre-Medical Society. The award recognizes a College of Charleston graduate whose practice of medicine, including dental, veterinary, and related medical sciences represents remarkable achievement, and who demonstrates an enduring commitment to the College and his or her community.

2017 Pre-Medical Society's Outstanding Service Award in Medicine

Deborah Deas '78

Deborah Deas grew up in Adams Run, SC, where she saw the challenges in education, employment, and health care faced by underserved populations. She earned a degree in biology from the College of Charleston in 1978, a master’s degree in public health from the University of South Carolina in 1979, and an M.D. from the Medical University of South Carolina in 1989. Following a residency in psychiatry and a fellowship in child and adolescent psychiatry at MUSC, she completed a fellowship in adolescent substance abuse research with the National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism. She then joined the faculty of the MUSC College of Medicine, where she worked for over two decades. In 2001, she became the first African-American on faculty to be granted tenure. 

In 2014, Deas served as interim dean of the College of Medicine and professor of psychiatry at MUSC before joining the University of California, Riverside School of Medicine as the Dean and CEO for Clinical Affairs in 2016. The school’s mission is to train a diverse physician workforce, and develop research and programs to improve the health of medically underserved populations – a cause for which she has advocated throughout her career.

Pre-Medical Society's Outstanding Service Award in Medicine Past Recipients


H. Biemann Othersen, Jr., '50
Peter C. Gazes, '42
Donald R. Johnson II, '80
Jonathan L. Cook '88
Margaret E. Mohrmann '69
John F. Tisdale ‘86
Joseph B. Anderson '86
James B. Edwards '50*
Robert T. Ball, Jr. '66
Ebony J. Hilton '04
Rahul N. Mehra '83
Deborah Deas '78