CofC Logo

Your online community


Howard F. Rudd, Jr. Business Person of the Year Award

Celebrating our alumni leaders

The Howard F. Rudd, Jr. Business Person of the Year Award recognizes a graduate who has made significant contributions as a business leader to industry or profession, community and alma mater, and who has exhibited great integrity in his or her business and personal life. The School of Business selects this award recipient.

2018 Howard F. Rudd, Jr. Business Person of the Year Award 

Sharon Brock Kingman ’80 

Sharon Kingman earned a degree in business administration from the College of Charleston in 1980, and is an accomplished consultant for firms and organizations including the International Olympic Committee. With her own consulting practice and a marketing background, she provides strategic planning for sponsorship negotiation, management, integration and timetables.

Kingman has earned a number of awards including the Bellsouth President’s Circle of Excellence Award and the International Olympic Committee’s Order of Excellence for her leadership in telecommunications for the 2002 Winter Games. She was also chosen for Leadership Atlanta, Class of 1995.

As an alumna of the College of Charleston School of Business, Kingman continues to serve her alma mater and gives generously to many campus needs. In 2006, the Kingman family established a scholarship to benefit business students, and Kingman was invited to speak to students as part of the George G. Spaulding Distinguished Executive Speaker Series in 2009. Additionally, she is a recipient of the College of Charleston Distinguished Alumna Award. She is past Chair of the College of Charleston Foundation Board and currently serves on the School of Business Board of Governors.

In other capacities, she serves as a board member for the Meyer Center for Special Children, and as an advisor for Greer State Bank’s Advisory Council and ASE Wealth Management. This award recognizes her significant contributions to both her profession and the College of Charleston.


Howard F. Rudd, Jr. Business Person of the Year Award Past Recipients


Robert C. Heffron, Jr. ‘67 *
Daniel Ravenel ‘72
John M. Jordan, Jr. ‘62
William T. Clowney ‘59
Lynne Mohrmann Bernthal ‘67
Martha Harbeson Bryan ‘76
Sam Kirshtein ‘45
Gregory D. Padgett '79
Christine Smith Breves '78
Steve D. Swanson '89
Justin R. McLain '98
Harry T. “Trey” Harvin III ‘92
J. West Riggs '93
Scott A. Cracraft, Sr. '83
Paul W. Steadman '83
Penny Jones McKeever '69
R. Keith Sauls '90
Bobby R. Creech '86



* Deceased